Skip to main content



Community Colleges of Spokane (CCS)

is composed of two colleges, Spokane Community College (SCC) and Spokane Falls Community College (SFCC).

The district is led by Chancellor Kevin Brockbank, Ed.D.
The colleges are led by acting president Jenni Martin at SCC and president Kimberlee Messina, Ed.D. at SFCC.

Kevin Brockbank, Ed.D

Chancellor - Community Colleges of Spokane


Acting Chancellor Greg StevensDr. Kevin Brockbank became chancellor of the Community Colleges of Spokane on May 1, 2023. He has dedicated his expertise and commitment to CCS since starting as vice provost of Strategic Partnerships from 2015 – 2017. Following that, he was the president of Spokane Community College from 2017 – 2023.

Before working at CCS, Dr. Brockbank was the dean of the School of Applied Technologies and Professional Development at Salt Lake Community College in Utah from 2013 – 2015. He was also interim associate dean and department chair of Industrial Technology at Missoula College, a two-year college affiliated with the University of Montana, from 2011 – 2012.

He was employed for 17 years at Helena College-University of Montana where he served as the executive director of Academic and Workforce Development, department chair of Industrial Trades and a tenured faculty member in Computer Technology and Office Technology.

Dr. Brockbank earned an Ed.D. in Educational Leadership, a masters in Curriculum Studies and a bachelor’s degree in Business and Information Technology, all from the University of Montana.

Jenni Martin

Acting President - Spokane Community College


Acting SCC President Jenni MartinJenni Martin was selected to be the Acting President at Spokane Community College on May 1, 2023. Previously, she worked as the VP of Instruction, starting in 2017. She has worked at the Community Colleges of Spokane in various capacities, including dean of Extended Learning, assistant dean of Adult Basic Education, WorkFirst manager and adjunct faculty.

Prior to working at CCS, she was employed at Eastern Washington University (EWU) as the head women’s soccer coach and also served as faculty at EWU and CCS. She has a Master of Education degree in Adult Education from EWU and earned a bachelor’s degree in History from Gonzaga University.

Kimberlee Messina, Ed.D.

President - Spokane Falls Community College


SFCC President Kimberlee Messina, Ed.D.Kimberlee Messina joined Spokane Falls Community College as the college president on June 1, 2019. Dr. Messina brings nearly 30 years’ experience working in the California Community College system. She began her career as an adjunct and tenured faculty member before transitioning to the Dean of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics at Santa Rosa Junior College. Dr. Messina served as the Vice President of Instruction and Institutional Research at Foothill College for four years and as Interim President for one year, followed by two years as the Interim Vice Chancellor of Educational Services and Planning for the San Mateo County Community College District.

She holds a bachelor’s degree in Sociology and a master’s degree in Spanish from California State University, Sacramento, and a doctoral degree in educational leadership from the University of California, Davis.